Gov. Ron DeSantis declares State of Emergency ahead of Nicole

Writer: Matthew Seaver
Published: Updated:
Gov. Ron DeSantis. Credit: CBS Miami

Governor Ron DeSantis has issued a State of Emergency for 34 counties across Florida ahead of Subtropical Storm Nicole.

Included in those 34 counties are the Southwest Florida counties of Lee, Collier, Charlotte, Hendry, DeSoto, and Glades.

In a news release on Monday, the governor’s office said the State of Emergency was declared out of an abundance of caution so communities could prepare ahead of the storm.

“While this storm does not, at this time, appear that it will become much stronger, I urge all Floridians to be prepared and to listen to announcements from local emergency management officials,” said Governor Ron DeSantis in a news release. “We will continue to monitor the trajectory and strength of this storm as it moves towards Florida.”

You can find a full list of the counties listed in the State of Emergency here: Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, DeSoto, Duval, Flagler, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lake, Lee, Manatee, Martin, Miami-Dade, Nassau, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pasco, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns, St. Lucie, Sumter, and Volusia.

The Weather Authority is also tracking Subtropical Strom Nicole and will keep you updated on the latest with the storm.

Copyright ©2024 Fort Myers Broadcasting. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior written consent.