State of emergency declared for counties in TD Nine’s path

Published: Updated:

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Gov. Rick Scott declared a state of emergency Wednesday for 51 counties in the path of Tropical Depression Nine in anticipation of the effects of the weather system.

None of the counties are located in Southwest Florida. The full list of counties is available in the governor’s declaration here.

“It is crucial that every Floridian has a plan in place to ensure their families, homes and businesses are fully prepared,” Scott said in a statement. “… By declaring a state of emergency in advance of this storm, we are ensuring that state, regional and local agencies can work together to meet the needs of our communities. We will continue to do all we can to keep our families and visitors safe and informed as this storm approaches our state.”

Copyright ©2023 Fort Myers Broadcasting. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior written consent.