NCAA sets super regional baseball schedule; 2 spots open

MGN. NCAA Basketball

The NCAA baseball tournament schedule for super regionals was announced Tuesday even though winners of two weather-delayed regionals were yet to be decided.

The eight best-of-three super regionals will determine the field for the College World Series, which starts June 18 in Omaha, Nebraska.

Super regionals starting Friday:

– Boston College (34-20) at No. 3 national seed Miami (48-11)

– TCU (45-15) at No. 4 Texas A&M (48-14)

– East Carolina (37-21-1) at No. 5 Texas Tech (45-17)

– Arizona (42-21) at No. 6 Mississippi State (44-16-1)

Super regionals starting Saturday:

– Florida State (40-20) at No. 1 Florida (50-13)

– UC Santa Barbara (40-18-1) at No. 2 Louisville (50-12)

These super regionals start Saturday but matchups and sites depend on Tuesday regional finals:

– If No. 8 LSU (45-19) defeats Rice, it will host Coastal Carolina (48-16)

– If Rice wins, it plays at Coastal Carolina

– If South Carolina (46-16) defeats UNC-Wilmington, the Gamecocks will host Oklahoma State (39-20).

– If UNC-Wilmington (42-18) wins, it plays at Oklahoma State.

A look around the country as regionals wrapped up Tuesday:


Coastal Carolina reached super regionals for the first time since 2010 with a 7-5 victory over North Carolina State thanks to a four-run ninth inning fueled by scuffling Wolfpack pitchers.

Cody Beckman walked the first two batters, and an infield single loaded the bases with one out Monday night when rain forced a stoppage. When play resumed Tuesday, the Chanticleers scored a run on a groundout and went ahead on Seth Lancaster’s two-run single. Billy Cooke followed with an RBI single. Mike Morrison pitched a perfect ninth for Coastal Carolina.


The Atlantic Coast Conference set a record with 10 teams making the national tournament, but the league has only four remaining after regionals.

Virginia, Clemson and North Carolina State were eliminated on their home fields. Georgia Tech, Wake Forest and Duke also were knocked out.

The survivors are Louisville, Miami, Florida State and Boston College. At best, the ACC will advance three teams to the College World Series because Boston College and Miami are matched in a super regional.

The Southeastern Conference, which started with seven teams in the tournament, will have between three and five in super regionals depending on the outcomes of regional finals involving LSU and South Carolina.

Copyright ©2024 Fort Myers Broadcasting. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior written consent.