Harvey, Irma, Maria and Nate retired by the World Meteorological Organization

Hurricane Daniel in 2006.

Harvey, Irma, Maria and Nate are now hurricane names that won’t be repeated.

The World Meteorological Organization’s Region IV Hurricane Committee officially retired the four names on Thursday.

The decision was made following the extensive hurricane damage to the United States and Caribbean in 2017.

MORE: Hurricane Irma full coverage

According to NOAA, storm names are retired if the storms were deadly and destructive. Otherwise names are used on a six-year cycle.

Harold, Idalia, Margot and Nigel are the names that will replace those retired


MORE: 2018 predicted to have above-average hurricane season 

Copyright ©2023 Fort Myers Broadcasting. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior written consent.