7 Lee County students named semi-finalists in prestigious program

Published: Updated:

FORT MYERS, Fla. – Seven Lee County students are in the running to become National Merit Scholars.

The competition was opened to about 1.6 million juniors in schools across the country, but only 16,000 students scored high enough on the PSAT, a pretest to a standardized college entrance exam, to qualify.

The seven semi-finalists attend Fort Myers High School and North Fort Myers High School. They will have to submit applications in the rigorous National Merit Scholarship competition to become eligible for the $33 million in scholarships and will be judged on their community engagement and service, demonstration of leadership, academic record and other accolades.

Those seven semifinalists are:

Joshua Kennedy
Elliot J. Negin
Kaitlyn M. Salyer
Elbert L. Wu
Aliya Zuberi
Sean P. Reagan
Helena M. Robertson

Copyright ©2024 Fort Myers Broadcasting. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior written consent.