A sobering message from the Florida Highway Patrol

Published: Updated:

The Florida Highway Patrol post on X is somewhat reminiscent of when you did something wrong in school and the teacher made you write it on the chalkboard.

“Do not drink and drive!” written 5 times followed by: #dui #dangerous #badchoices #florida.

The message relates to someone arrested by troopers with a .175 blood alcohol concentration.

In Florida, the legal limit is .08.

Someone caught driving under the influence faces fines and possibly jail time.

If found guilty of DUI, punishments include:

  • Not less than $500 or more than $1,000 for a first conviction.
  • Not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000 for a second conviction; and
  • Imprisonment for:
  • Not more than six months for a first conviction.
  • Not more than nine months for a second conviction.
  • With a second conviction, the defendant must have an ignition interlock device installed for at least one year.

The Florida Statutes detail more rules, restrictions and punishments.

Copyright ©2023 Fort Myers Broadcasting. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior written consent.