Day and Tringale hang on to win Franklin Templeton Shootout in Naples

Author: Associated Press
Published: Updated:

NAPLES, Fla. (AP) – Jason Day and Cameron Tringale overcame a slow start Saturday to win the Franklin Templeton Shootout by a shot.

Day and Tringale shot a 7-under 65 in the better-ball final round to finish at 32 under at Tiburon Golf Club. They each earned $335,000.

Day and Tringale opened with a 55 on Thursday in the scramble round and shot a 64 on Friday in modified alternate-shot play.

Leading by three shots going into the final round, they had just one birdie in the first eight holes before closing with six in their last nine.

Matt Kuchar and Harris English, the 2013 winners, finished second after a 62. Kuchar just missed an eagle chip on the final hole.

The teams of Billy Horschel-Ian Poulter and Keegan Bradley-Camilo Villegas tied for third at 29 under.


Final Standings

1. Jason Day and Cameron Tringale                                        -32

2. Harris English and Matt Kuchar                                          -31

T-3. Keegan Bradley and Camilo Villegas                              -29

T-3. Billy Horschel and Ian Poulter                                          -29

T-5. Graeme McDowell and Gary Woodland                         -28

T-5. Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker                                             -28

T-7. Charles Howell III and Scott Verplank                           -26

T-7. Justin Leonard and Rory Sabbatini                                 -26

9. Ryan Palmer and Jimmy Walker                                          -25

10. Patrick Reed and Brandt Snedeker                                     -24

11. Sean O’Hair and Kenny Perry                                              -22

12. Retief Goosen and Mike Weir                                              -15


Copyright ©2024 Fort Myers Broadcasting. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior written consent.