Lee County School Board, superintendent referendum results

Writer: Matthew Seaver
Published: Updated:
Las escuelas del Condado Lee brindaran desayuno gratis

Voters in Lee County chose who they wanted to fill several seats on the Lee County School Board on election day. They also decided whether or not the superintendent of the School District of Lee County would become an elected position.

Three seats were up for grabs on the school board on Election Day.

It was a close race in District 1, where Kath Fanny lost to Sam Fisher by a margin of 48% to 52%.

In District 4, Debbie Jordan got 56% of the vote, beating Dan Severson, who received 44%.

In District 6, there was another close race, with Jada Langford Fleming getting 52% of the vote and Denise Nystrom getting 48%.

Voters in Lee County also decided that the superintendent would become an elected position. Up until now, the superintendent was appointed by the members of the school board. The decision passed by a margin of 62% to 38%.

The current superintendent of Lee County schools is Christopher Bernier, who was sworn in on May 16. The next superintendent will be elected in 2024.

In Southwest Florida, Charlotte and Collier counties both have appointed superintendents.

Copyright ©2024 Fort Myers Broadcasting. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior written consent.