Randy Henderson re-elected as Fort Myers Mayor

Published: Updated:

FORT MYERS, Fla. Randy Henderson was re-elected as Fort Myers Mayor Tuesday evening with an overwhelming majority vote.

Henderson was running as an incumbent for his seat against two other candidates, Nicole Dillon and Curtis J. Sheard.

The top two finishers for Fort Myers Council Ward 3 were incumbent Teroyln Watson and Minnie Henry Jackson and they will face off in the general election in November.

Fred Burson will face Lydia Lowell-Sherman for Fort Myers Council Ward 5.

Joe Coviello and Michael Hollow will face off in November for the mayor’s general election in Cape Coral.

MORE: Cape Coral voters to elect new mayor

Seven candidates were vying for the position as mayor of Cape Coral to replace Marni Sawicki, who announced in March she wouldn’t seek re-election.

John Gunter and Graham Morris will face off for Cape Coral District 1 and Jennifer Nelson will face Richard Leon for Cape Coral Council District 4.

Doyle estimated that about 20,000 of the county’s 150,000 registered voters will have cast ballots by the time polls closed at 7 p.m.

The primaries were postponed twice because of Hurricane Irma — an unprecedented move Doyle believes has kept some voters from the polls. But the turnout thus far is roughly on par with prior municipal elections in the city.

The lion’s share of votes have come via mail-in ballots — some 16,000 have been received, Doyle said. Another 2,000 went to the polls during early voting, and Doyle estimates only another 2,000 votes will be cast Tuesday.

WINK News reporter Britni McDonald has more on primary voter turn out:

Copyright ©2024 Fort Myers Broadcasting. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior written consent.