Kevin Anderson wins reelection as Fort Myers mayor

Mayor Kevin Anderson
Mayor Kevin Anderson Credit: WINK News

Fort Myers residents have voted to keep Kevin Anderson as mayor.

Anderson easily won Tuesday’s election against David Ruffin to keep his mayoral seat.

Ruffin, who has a criminal past, said he didn’t want his past to define him. In the last few years, he became a changed man and wanted to help others change, too.

Anderson became mayor in 2020 after serving as Ward 4 city councilman for two years.

“I think that people respect that I’ve lived up to my commitment of being accessible, responsive and transparent. And they know I’m working hard for the city for the entire city, not just certain parts,” Anderson told WINK News.

Fort Myers Mayor Kevin Anderson (Left) and David Ruffin (Right) who is running against him.

Anderson won 79% of the vote, while Ruffin got 21% of the vote.

Fort Myers Councilwoman Teresa Watkins Brown sailed to victory against opponent Martin Byrd. Watkins Brown kept her Ward 1 seat by earning 70% of the vote.

Byrd won 30% of the vote.

In Ward 3, Terolyan Watson, the incumbent in the race, won 56% of the vote. Her opponent Chantel Rhodes won 44% of the race.


Copyright ©2024 Fort Myers Broadcasting. All rights reserved.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without prior written consent.